Disconnecting in an ever connecting world.

Do you ever find yourself scrambling to get somewhere, or leave whatever you are doing, just so you can plug in your cell phone? I have been in that situation many times, and currently have 3 batteries and a battery charger to prevent it. Do we really need to get that fresh battery, or get to that charger right now?

I find myself asking this question more and more lately. Not because who I am talking to, and the things that I do on the internet, are in some way bad. Yet again though, they really could be. When was the last time I went out with my friends or family and didn’t have my BlackBerry with me? When was the last time I disconnected from the social networks to really get to know who was with me?

Living life ever connected to Wifi, a USB port, or even a pair of headphones has really taken its toll. You hear that phone notify you of an incoming message, social update, or maybe even a phone call. You rush over to it to see if it is that one person that you have been waiting to hear from. Now this person may be a potential client (good) a business partner (also good) or it is someone you are going to meet (best)

I find on that last one it is most difficult for me. When I decide that I am going to keep my phone in my pocket and try to talk, the other person(s) are not willing to do the same. It really does make me miss the days when friends were real and in person. Sadly though, for the most part, it has become a “did you see what was on facebook” society.
Do I plan on disconnecting and getting a dumb phone, no. But I do hope to find a way to get my priorities more in line with how I feel they need to be. There may be a lot of changes in the near future, but then again there may not. Only time will tell.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

