Out on a limb.

People always say that it is the things you don’t do that you regret the most. Here lately I have been trying to break out of my shell and do things I wouldn’t normally do.

Most recently I asked a girl out that I have been friends with for a little while now. She unfortunately (maybe) turned me down. But rejection in itself is something that I have probably feared more than anything for most of my life. Some have a fear of letting others down. But for me it is the act of trying that is bothersome. Failure is something I have come accustomed to since I was in the 7th grade. I never tried with anything, not because I wasn’t smart enough, fast enough, or strong enough. But I think I have lacked something.

Self confidence is something I have struggled with my entire life. If I am around family or close friends then that is greatly diminished. But left to on my own with no one to push me, I have always taken the path of least resistance. School I just barely skated by, work is so easy that I have for the most part mastered the skills required for it. But for one moment, if even if ever so brief, I have stepped out onto the banks to dry myself off and did something difficult.

Now with that done, do I continue to stay out of the water, or shall I get back in and continue following the easy river? Not really sure what is in store for me in the near future, but whatever it holds I think I am just a little bit more prepared for it now. 🙂

Posted on March 24, 2012, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

