New Adventures

Things have been pretty crazy lately for me. I have been asked to write for a couple of different blogs. www.sliceofthe.net and www.opensourcebb.com (both are great, check them out). With these new opprotunities I have decided to branch out beyond just the Blackberry box that I have put myself into.

Since this title is New Adventures then I suppose I should let you in on the journey that I am about to embark on. I have purchased a VZW Droid 3 world phone and I am looking into finding myself an iOS device. All of this in an attempt to expand what I “know” about these other platforms that I have thus far chosen to ignore.

My Bold 9700 was my first venture into the smartphone world. There have been many ups and downs along the way (some due to my ignorance and some not). There is also something to be said for this community that has evolved around a seemingly business device. I am told all the time that I “need” to make the switch to whatever platform my friend has taken a shine to for the moment.

Unlike my friends though I came into this platform when it was not popular, and yet I have managed to fall in love with it all the same. There is constant bashing of how RIM (the maker’s of Blackberry) from the media. They don’t like this feature, or think that this other feature needs to be added to make the Blackberry brand more competitive.

All of that aside I intend to find out why everyone says the grass is greener on their side of the fence. Honestly none of what I have seen from any of the platforms has been bad. The platforms all have their customer base, and all have their good devices, as well as bad. So in the near future keep a look out on that “via” tag on twitter, it just may surprise you!

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Nice post, for some strange reason I’ve been expecting something like this. #Winning

  2. I think essentially for most people its what they get their hands on first. Most of us really don’t care enough to try everything before we open our mouth. Good job keeping your foot out of yours! Not many people can say they are doing this.

Leave a Reply

